Salzburg Festival 2020: Barenboim conducts the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra


“Fluid, but without hectic, Barenboim let the endless melody blossom, strength and tenderness were no opposites. Emmanuel Pahud from the Berliner Philharmoniker played the flute […] and was not the only celebrity in the orchestra: in addition to Barenboim’s son Michael as concertmaster and Kian Soltani as solo cellist, the conductor and pianist Lahav Shani, the successor of Zubin Mehta at the head of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, was on the double bass” Die Presse. PROGRAM Wagner: Siegfried Idyll for Chamber Orchestra; Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9; Boulez: Mémoriale (…explosante-fixe… Originel) for solo flute and eight instruments; Beethoven: Große Fuge, Op. 133 (Version by Daniel Barenboim, 2020)

Additional Info

  • No: A045501360000
  • Composer: Richard Wagner, Arnold Schönberg, Pierre Boulez, L.v. Beethoven
  • Orchestra: West-Eastern Divan Orchestra
  • Artists: Emmanuel Pahud
  • Production year: 2020
  • Run time: 01:15:00
  • Producers: A co-production of Unitel and ZDF in cooperation with Arte Concert and Salzburger Festspiele
  • Format: 4K
back to list