RCO: Rouvali conducts Shostakovich and Morricone


Finnish conducting sensation Santtu-Matias Rouvali takes the helm of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra for a marvelously program: the Dutch premieres of works by Anna Thorvaldsdottir and Ennio Morricone, plus Shostakovich’s philosophical, allusive 15th Symphony! The charismatic Rouvali, known for championing new and unique repertoire is the perfect choice for these two Dutch premieres: Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s “Metacosmos”, a fascinating “balance between beauty and chaos,” and the late, great Ennio Morricone’s “UT”, a concerto for trumpet performed by the excellent Omar Tomasoni, the RCO’s principal trumpeter. Rounding off the program is Shostakovich’s final completed symphony, No. 15 in A, the product of a burst of creativity in the early 1970s. Tonally expansive and delightfully referential, the symphony seemed to Shostakovich to “[appear] in my mind with total clarity from first note to last. There was nothing left for me to do but write it down.” PROGRAM Shostakovich: Symphony No 15; Thorvaldsdottir: Metacosmos; Morricone: UT

Additional Info

  • No: 8886
  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Ennio Morricone
  • Conductor: Santtu-Matias Rouvali
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Artists: Omar Tomasoni
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 01:29:00
  • Producers: RCO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list