RCO: Made in America


Don't miss the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in an all-American extravaganza from their illustrious home venue in Amsterdam! Susanna Mälkki leads a program entitled "Made in America," exploring American identity across three rare, well-chosen works. Opening the evening is A Short Piece for Orchestra by 20th-century African-American composer Julia Perry, a neoclassical work of complex and frenetic rhythms tempered by profound lyricism. Next up is the formidable Violin Concerto by John Adams, a revolutionary piece for the instrument whose exceptional melodic richness complements a marvelously original rhythmic frame. Ferociously difficult and rarely played, it is interpreted with brio and assurance by virtuoso violinist Leila Josefowicz. Finally, the concert closes with Charles Ives's Symphony No. 2, an evocative blend of European influences and New England folklore. PROGRAM Perry: A Short Piece for Orchestra; Adams: Violin Concerto; Ives: Symphony No. 2

Additional Info

  • No: 8814
  • Composer: Charles Ives, Julia Perry, John Adams
  • Conductor: Susanna Mälkki
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Artists: Leila Josefowicz
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:23:00
  • Producers: RCO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list