RCO: Järvi conducts Mozart & Schumann


Víkingur Ólafsson is making his debut with the Concertgebouworkest. Over the past few years, he has attracted attention with his interpretation of music by Bach, Glass and contemporary music. That’s why it’s certainly be interesting to hear his interpretation of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24, a work of unrivalled beauty anticipating the romantic era with its dramatic opening and its dark undercurrents. Paavo Järvi has made several impressive guest appearances with the Concertgebouworkest. He now shines his light on Schumann’s Third Symphony (‘Rhenish’), the culmination of Schumann’s efforts to prove himself as an orchestral composer. Inspired by the beautiful landscape of the Rhineland, he wanted this symphony to sound like folk music. But the work also sometimes has a solemn, spiritual intensity, the result of the deep impression that the then newly built Cologne Cathedral made on him. PROGRAM Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 24; Schumann: Symphony No.3

Additional Info

  • No: 8778
  • Composer: W.A. Mozart, R. Schumann
  • Conductor: Paavo Järvi
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Artists: Víkingur Ólafsson
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:10:00
  • Producers: RCO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list