András Schiff – Lecture Concert Goldberg Variations


One of the most important Bach interpreters of our time dedicates himself to a work that is one of the most fascinating compositions of the entire pre-Classical era: In this lecture concert Sir András Schiff takes the audience on a journey to discover Bach’s Goldberg Variations in word and sound. Originally published as “Aria with various alterations”, the 30 variations have become an epitome of the Baroque period. Pianist Schiff “is a gifted teacher” (Süddeutsche Zeitung), guiding the audience on his excursion that takes him “from serenity to serenity, with highpoints and pauses for contemplation along the way.” (The Arts Desk) How Schiff commands the smallerscale architectures is just as impressive as his mastery of the whole 30-variation span … its cogency and integrityare peerless … A spellbinding account of the Goldberg Variations!” (The Guardian). Only Concert version available: appr. 60 mins A055506910000

Additional Info

  • No: A055506900000
  • Composer: J.S. Bach
  • Artists: András Schiff
  • Production year: 2017
  • Run time: 02:20:00
  • Producers: UNITEL in cooperation with Pierre Boulez Saal
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list