Yuja Wang & Mahler Chamber Orchestra


“Virtuosic sparks” ( As Artistic Partner of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, piano virtuoso Yuja Wang not only dazzles at the grand piano, but also gives her conducting debut. After an amuse-bouche of Mozart’s “precisely articulated and dynamically shaded” Serenade in E flat major, Wang takes the stage with Stravinsky’s Concerto for piano and wind orchestra and concludes the concert with a striking rendition of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue: “With dreamlike chord accuracy and flawlessly rapid repetitions, she presents the rhythmic finesse of Gershwin’s music and demonstrates an unerring sense of jazzy impetus” ( Mozart: Serenade for wind instruments, K. 375; Stravinsky: Concerto for piano and wind instruments; Dvorak: Serenade for wind instruments, cello and double bass in D minor, Op. 44; Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue (arr. Ferde Grofé); Marquez: Danzón No. 2 (arr. Gómez-Tagle)

Additional Info

  • No: A045502900000
  • Composer: Mozart, Stravinsky, Dvorak, Gershwin, Marquez
  • Conductor: Yuja Wang
  • Orchestra: Mahler Chamber Orchestra
  • Production year: 2024
  • Run time: 01:39:00
  • Director: Christoph Engel
  • Producers: UNITEL, Deutsche Grammophon, Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien
  • Format: 4K
back to list