Through the Eyes of Yuja


Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue & Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major


This film is a journey with the famous pianist Yuja Wang. With more than 120 performances a year, she lives a nomadic lifestyle. The exploration of Yuja’s wanderings is a travelogue of exciting venues, glitzy cities and encounters with extraordinary artists, such as Gustavo Dudamel, Gauthier Capuçon and Leonidas Kavakos and personalities of other professional horizons but there is also a downside: fatigue, jet lag, pressure, doubts, hostilities, disorientation, and loneliness. With a bittersweet reference to the transience of life, the film reveals the invisible that complements the visible and shows us this artist in a very personal way. “Pianists have to be alone all the time, and it’s hard, it’s lonely. Being a musician is almost like a very isolated life, and the only time you actually get to communicate is on stage with music. It’s not a bad thing. I think being solitary, it really allows us to think about life and to think about why people write this music. [...] It makes you start to wonder about things that are beneath the surface.” Yuja Wang

Additional Info

  • No: 745504
  • Composer: George Gershwin, Maurice Ravel
  • Conductor: Lionel Bringuier
  • Orchestra: Camerata Salzburg
  • Artists: Gustavo Dudamel, Gauthier Capuçon, Leonidas Kavakos
  • Production year: 2018-09
  • Run time: 01:29:00
  • Director: A film by Anaïs & Olivier Spiro

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: E, G, F, Jp, Ko
  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 89 mins
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC 16:9 HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo, PCM 5.1
  • Bonus Material: Yuja Wang at Salzburg Festival
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 15
  • Item No.: 745504
  • UPC No.: 814337014551
  • Release Date: 2018-09
back to list