The Odeonsplatz Concert: Münchner Philharmoniker and Valery Gergiev

Klassik am Odeonsplatz
Foto: Marcus Schlaf, 16.7.2016


A balmy summer night, musical highlights and the picturesque scenery of Munich’s Feldherrnhalle – The Odeonsplatz Concert grants experiences of classical music on its highest level in a unique atmosphere. The Münchner Philharmoniker open their open air concert with Bach’s Air from Suite No. 3 and Tchaikovsky’s ballet-suite Swan Lake. Chief Conductor Valery Gergiev conducts this piece with “dance-like elegance and a slightly melancholic levity, tackling the frontiers of the feasible in the rapid movements” (Süddeutsche Zeitung). The programme goes on with Richard Strauss’s Suite from Rosenkavalier, “euphonious, fresh, sensual, with plenty of power exactly when it is needed” (TZ), and with Maurice Ravel’s Boléro.

Additional Info

  • No: A055505900000
  • Composer: J.S. Bach, P. Tchaikovsky, R. Strauss, M. Rave
  • Conductor: Valery Gergiev
  • Orchestra: Münchner Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2016
  • Run time: 01:29:00
  • Producers: A production of BR in co-production with UNITEL
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list