The Exclusive Subscription Concert Series – Leonidas Kavakos & Herbert Blomstedt


The Subscription Concert Series of the Wiener Philharmoniker from the Golden Hall of the famous Musikverein are special concerts reserved for subscribers. Due to the exceptional quality of the concerts and the limited offer, the average waiting time for subscribers is more than 10 years. With this series, these very special concerts are made available for the first time audiovisually to a wider audience worldwide. Conductor Herbert Blomstedt, honorary member of the orchestra, is a regular guest at the subscription concerts. For this one he chose Carl Nielsen’s Fifth Symphony: “It is full of Danish humour: very serious and at the same time very comic and yet sublime.” As a counterpoint to Nielsen's exciting experimentation, Greek star violinist Leonidas Kavakos interprets Johannes Brahms’ Violin Concerto, one of the most beloved and frequently performed works in the violin concerto repertoire. “Leonidas Kavakos, together with the Philharmoniker, makes this beautiful work a true celebration.” (klassik-begeistert.de)

Additional Info

  • No: 766604
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms, Carl Nielsen
  • Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Artists: Leonidas Kavakos
  • Production year: 2023-07
  • Run time: 01:33:00
  • Producers: A production of Unitel, ORF III, ORF, Ö1, Myfidelio in cooperation with Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Format: HDTV 16:9

Disc Infos

  • Booklet: E, D
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 93 mins
  • Disc Format: BD50
  • Picture: NTSC
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME15
  • Item No.: 766604
  • UPC No.: 810116910366
  • Release Date: 2023-07
back to list