The Exclusive Subscription Concert Series – Christian Thielemann


The Subscription Concert Series of the Wiener Philharmoniker from the Golden Hall of the famous Musikverein are special concerts reserved for subscribers. Due to the exceptional quality of the concerts and the limited offer, the average waiting time for subscribers is more than 10 years. With this series, these very special concerts are made available for the first time audiovisually to a wider audience worldwide. For this subscription concert, the Wiener Philharmoniker asked a long-time artistic companion to take the podium: more than 140 concerts and a multitude of celebrated recordings connect Christian Thielemann with the traditional Viennese orchestra. The live recording of his debut on the podium at the Vienna Musikverein almost 23 years ago promptly became a reference recording. On the programme then as now: Richard Strauss' monumental Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony). This work, often regarded as the final and climax of the "symphonic poem" genre, is juxtaposed with Arnold Schönberg’s probably most famous tonal composition, the orchestral version of the string sextet Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night). Composed in 1899, this highly expressive work by the 25-year-old Schönberg reads, in retrospect, like a swan song to the 19th century. “Schönberg and Strauss rarely sound so grandiose.“ (Kurier) “A truly persuasive performance.”(The New York Times)

Additional Info

  • No: 766908
  • Composer: Arnold Schoenberg, Richard Strauss
  • Conductor: Christian Thielemann
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2023-09
  • Run time: 01:29:00
  • Producers: A co-production of Unitel and Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Format: HDTV 16:9

Disc Infos

  • Booklet: E, D
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 89 mins
  • Disc Format: DVD 9
  • Picture: NTSC
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Price Code: CME 11
  • Item No.: 766908
  • UPC No.: 810116910397
  • Release Date: 2023-08
back to list