With the "Méditation", Jules Massenet probably wrote one of the most famous melodies of our time. It originates from his Comédie-lyrique "Thaïs", which – unlike Massenet's operas "Werther" or "Manon" – never made it into the international opera repertoire. Presumably because the two main roles of Thaïs and Athanaël demand something almost superhuman from the singers. In the new production by Peter Konwitschny at the Theater an der Wien, the American soprano Nicole Chevalier is one of the most exciting singers currently on stage in the title role. At her side, the young Austrian bass-baritone Josef Wagner celebrates his house debut. Translated with (free version)

Additional Info

  • No: A04050151
  • Composer: Jules Massenet
  • Conductor: Leo Hussain
  • Orchestra: ORF Radio Symphonieorchester Wien
  • Artists: Nicole Chevalier, Josef Wagner, Roberto Saccà, Carolina Lippo, Sofia Vinnik, Arnold Schoenberg Chor
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:48:00
  • Director: Stage Director: Peter Konwitschny
  • Producers: Unitel
  • Format: 4K
back to list