Teodor Currentzis – UTOPIA


Theodor Currentzis presents his new orchestra project „Utopia“ – and brings together 112 musicians from 22 nations. Outstanding musicians from international orchestras, the independent scene, soloists and chamber musicians come together to work on exemplary works of orchestral literature. The debut concerts of the new orchestra focus on refined and complex orchestral works of the early 20th century: Stravinsky‘s rarely performed third „Firebird“ suite from 1945, as well as the masterfully orchestrated second suite from „Daphnis et Chloé“ and the choreographic poem „La Valse“ by Maurice Ravel. All of the compositions exemplify the aesthetic thinking of the time. They are exquisite artefacts for demanding connoisseurs: The latest achievements in the art of orchestration, rousing dance rhythms and frenzied apotheoses stand for themselves. The „l‘art pour l‘art“ principle („art for art‘s sake“) is in the foreground here. In keeping with the orchestra‘s name, all three works thematize a form of the golden age: the ancient Greek pastoral („Daphnis et Chloé“), the Russian fairy-tale world („The Firebird“) and the Austrian imperial court in its heyday („La Valse“). PROGRAM Stravinsky: Firebird; Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, La Valse, Boléro

Additional Info

  • No: 8853
  • Composer: Igor Stravinsky, Maurice Ravel
  • Conductor: Teodor Currentzis
  • Orchestra: Utopia
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 01:40:00
  • Producers: Servus TV
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list