Salzburg Festival 2021: Bruckner Symphony No. 7 (Chamber Version)


Bruckner composed his Seventh Symphony between 1881 and 1883 and its first performance in Leipzig 1884 was one of the few unalloyed triumphs of Bruckner’s career. While the Viennese public also reacted enthusiastically, the Wiener Allgemeine Zeitung was exceptionally nasty, not only about the Symphony but also about Bruckner himself. So Arnold Schönberg saw a need to rehabilitate Bruckner with a performance of the Seventh in a more informal and open-minded environment. Three musicians were involved in making the arrangement, all of them Schönberg pupils. Their chamber version allows us to hear Bruckner’s ideas with an extraordinarily refreshing clarity – a most sympathetic and touching tribute to Bruckner by three of Vienna’s most progressive musical modernists in the 1920s. PROGRAM: Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 (Chamber Version), arranged by Hanns Eisler, Erwin Stein, Karl Rankl

Additional Info

  • No: A04050203
  • Composer: Anton Bruckner
  • Artists: Renaud Capuçon, Christoph Koncz, Daniel Ottensamer, Gérard Caussé, Julia Hagen, Alois Posch, Guillaume Bellom, David Guerrier, Adélaïde Férrière
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:20:00
  • Producers: Unitel
  • Format: 4K
back to list