Salzburg Festival 2021: Bruckner Symphony No. 7 (Chamber Version)


The first performance of Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony in Leipzig 1884 was one of the few unalloyed triumphs of his career. Eisler, Stein and Rankl, all three involved in making the arrangement, were all Schönberg pupils. Their chamber version allows us to hear Bruckner’s ideas with an extraordinary refreshing clarity – a most sympathetic and touching tribute to Bruckner by three of Vienna’s most progressive musical modernists in the 1920s. “A summit victory without heavy baggage. Monumental orchestral work in fabulous chamber sound: Renaud Capuçon and friends thrilled with Bruckner’s 7th Symphony… More intensity is hardly possible.” (Salzburger Nachrichten). PROGRAM: Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 (Chamber Version), arranged by Hanns Eisler, Erwin Stein, Karl Rankl

Additional Info

  • No: A04050203
  • Composer: Anton Bruckner
  • Artists: Renaud Capuçon, Christoph Koncz, Daniel Ottensamer, Gérard Caussé, Julia Hagen, Alois Posch …
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:06:00
  • Producers: Unitel, ORF, Salzburger Festspiele
  • Format: 4K
back to list