Rudolf Nureyev’s Don Quixote


Don Quixote was created by the master choreographer Marius Petipa, together with the composer Ludwig Minkus, for the Imperial Bolshoi Ballet in Moscow in 1869. Marking the 400th anniversary of Cervantes’s death, Don Quixote is here seen in the revised version by Rudolf Nureyev which the French choreographer Manuel Legris – once a noted Basil himself in his days as an “étoile” in Nureyev’s Paris troupe – devised for the Wiener Staatsballett. “A Don Quixote to love … Legris and company can count the evening a total success” (Die Presse). As for the two principals, Maria Yakovleva and Denys Cherevychko as Kitri and Basil, no praise was high enough: “both are technically brilliant” (Wiener Zeitung).

Additional Info

  • No: 742408
  • Composer: Ludwig Minkus
  • Conductor: Kevin Rhodes
  • Orchestra: Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper
  • Artists: Maria Yakovleva, Denys Cherevychko, Ketevan Papava, Kiyoka Hashimoto, Roman Lazik, Olga Esina, Wiener Staatsballett
  • Production year: 2017-10
  • Run time: 02:02:00
  • Director: Choreography by Rudolf Nureyev

Disc Infos

  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 122 mins
  • Disc Format: DVD 9
  • Picture: NTSC 16:9
  • Audio: PCM Stereo, Dolby 5.1
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 11
  • Item No.: 742408
  • UPC No.: 814337014247
  • Release Date: 2017-10
back to list