Requiem for Hieronymus Bosch


s-Hertogenbosch’s most famous son, the famed painter Hieronymus Bosch lived and worked at the town marketplace, portraying medieval life in his paintings brimming with symbolism, fantasy and riddles. With the international event Bosch 500, ’s-Hertogenbosch is commemorating the five hundredth anniversary of the artist’s death in a spectacular way. The RCO’s house composer Detlev Glanert has been commissioned by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Bosch 500 to write a requiem for soloists, choir, organ and orchestra. The composition translates the demonic nature of Bosch’s paintings with textual counterparts into music. Glanert combines traditional requiem texts with excerpts from the manuscript collection Carmina Burana – each movement of the Requiem is accompanied by a poem about the seven deadly sins.

Additional Info

  • No: 9503
  • Composer: Detlev Glanert
  • Conductor: Markus Stenz
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Netherlands Radio Choir
  • Artists: Aga Mikolaj, Ursula Hesse von den Steinen, Gerhard Siegel, Christof Fischesser (singer), Leo van Doeselaar (organ), David Wilson-Johnson (voice)
  • Production year: 2016
  • Run time: 01:23:00
  • Producers: RCO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list