RCO: Hengelbrock conducts Schubert "Unfinished" & Mozart Requiem


The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Thomas Hengelbrock present a fine selection of incomplete works by Schubert and Mozart. They are joined by Hengelbrock’s Balthasar-Neumann-Chor, “one of the world’s best choirs” (Gramophone), and by four proficient soloists. Performed one year after his death, the whole concert is dedicated to conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt, RCO’s Honorary Guest Conductor from 1975 to 2013. According to Hengelbrock, being Harnoncourt’s pupil was a path-breaking experience. The encore “Komm o Tod, du Schlafes Bruder”, the very first Bach-chorale Hengelbrock and Harnoncourt performed together, is a deeply moving finale to a concert night “of radiant beauty” (NRC). PROGRAM Schubert: Stabat mater; Symphony No.8 ‘Unfinished’, W.A. Mozart: Requiem

Additional Info

  • No: A865500340000
  • Composer: Franz Schubert, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Conductor: Thomas Hengelbrock
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra; Balthasar-Neumann-Chor
  • Artists: Katja Stuber, Marion Eckstein, Andreas Weller, Reinhard Mayr
  • Production year: 2017
  • Run time: 01:31:00
  • Producers: RCO, Mezzo and Unitel
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list