Quinte & Sens: Symphony of the Elements


This film by François-René Martin & Gordon combines breathtakingly beautiful images with the magnificent sound of the Orchestre de Paris. It creates a new Symphony representing the four Classical Elements: Fire (Stravinsky’s “Firebird”), Earth (Adoration of the Earth in Stravinsky’s “Rite of Spring”), Water (Debussy’s “La Mer”), Air (Dialogue of the Wind and the Sea in “La Mer”). As a fifth element it adds Olivier Messiaen’s “L’Appel interstellaire” (Interstellar call) from “Des Canyons aux Étoiles” (From the canyons to the stars). The word Quintessence was originally the Latin expression for the fifth element (quinta essentia, literally “fifth being”). According to Aristoteles, there was aether as massless, unchangeable, eternal substance beyond the lunar sphere. This “fifth element” thus had completely different properties than the earthly ones. Filmed inside and outside the stunning Philharmonie de Paris in true Hollywood style this is a new milestone in the creative visualization of music. A fascinating feast for the eyes and ears.

Additional Info

  • No: A015501970000
  • Composer: Stravinsky, Debussy, Messiaen
  • Conductor: Paavo Järvi, Daniel Harding
  • Orchestra: Philharmonie de Paris
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 00:52:00
  • Director: A film by François-René Martin & Gordon
  • Producers: Camera Lucida Productions, Philharmonie de Paris, ARTE France
  • Format: 4K
back to list