Quatuor pour la fin du temps


With Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Isabelle Faust, Jean-Guihen Queyras and Jörg Widmann, four outstanding soloists dedicated themselves to Olivier Messiaen’s “Quatuor pour la fin du temps”, a unique work of music history, and performed it together at the “Meetingpoint Music Messiaen” that was built on the site of the former prisoner of war camp just outside of German-Polish town Görlitz/Zgorzelec, exactly where the camp’s so-called “theater barrack” once stood. It was there that Messiaen composed the quartet and on January 15, 1941 performed it for the first time in front of fellow prisoners.

Additional Info

  • No: 8784
  • Composer: Olivier Messiaen
  • Artists: Isabelle Faust, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Jörg Widmann, Pierre-Laurent Aimard
  • Production year: 2020
  • Run time: 00:59:00
  • Producers: Accentus Music in co-production with MDR/Arte
  • Format: 4K
back to list