Paavo Javi – Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, Inaugural Concert


The Tonhalle Orchester Zürich has appointed one of the best conductors of our time as ist new artistic director: Paavo Järvi takes over the post with the 2019/2020 season. Born in Estonia in 1962, Järvi is currently music director of the NHK Orchestra in Tokyo. In 2009, he worked with the Tonhalle Orchestra for the first time and again most recently in December 2016. Kullervo, Op. 7, is a suite of symphonic movements by the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius. Although often referred to as a „choral symphony,“ the work avoids traditional symphonic structure and its five movements constitute a set of related but independent tone poems. PROGRAM Sibelius: Kullervo

Additional Info

  • No: 8720
  • Composer: Jean Sibelius
  • Conductor: Paavo Javi
  • Orchestra: Tonhalle Orchester Zürich; Zürcher Sing-Akademie, Estonian National Male Choir
  • Artists: Johanna Rusanen, Villen Rusanen
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 01:29:00
  • Producers: Accentus Music, Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, Mezzo, SRF
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list