Paavo Järvi conducts Haydn


The charming, elegant music of Joseph Haydn’s London symphonies is repeatedly punctuated by flashes of tragedy. But no sooner has the listener adjusted to a change of mood than it is over again. It’s these rapid changes of colour that are characteristic of Haydn, a composer of great versatility, depth of thought and wit. The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under the direction of its chief conductor Paavo Järvi makes all this audible and tangible. In the second part of their concert series on the London Symphonies at the Vienna Konzerthaus, they perform three more of Haydn’s London Symphonies, the Symphonies No. 93, No. 97 and No. 101 “The Clock”. For the recording of two of the London symphonies, Symphonies Nos. 101 and 103, the orchestra was honoured with the “Orchestra of the year 2023” award from the British classical music magazine “Grammophone”, one of the most important awards in classical music.

Additional Info

  • No: A045502880000
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Conductor: Paavo Järvi
  • Orchestra: The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 02:35:00
  • Director: Ferenc Soeteman
  • Producers: UNITEL, The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list