Omer Meir Wellber conducts Bach and Schubert


American violinist Hilary Hahn – “one of the essential violinists of our time” (The New York Times) – appears for the first time at the Gstaad Menuhin Festival, Switzerland, with Johann Sebastian Bach’s Violin Concertos in A minor and E major. At the age of 17 she made a huge impression with the recording of Bach’s six sonatas and partitas. Twenty years later she still interprets Bach with the same ease and fascinates by her unaffected, brilliant playing. Together with Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, who later perform Schubert’s “Tragic” 4th Symphony, this results in an enchanting interplay in the beautiful Mauritius Church. The conductor is the Israeli Omer Meir Wellber, who also reaches for the bandoneon in Piazzolla’s rousing Oblivion encore.

Additional Info

  • No: A955500340000
  • Composer: J.S. Bach, Franz Schubert, Astor Piazzolla
  • Conductor: Omer Meir Wellber
  • Orchestra: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
  • Artists: Hilary Hahn
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 01:13:00
  • Producers: UNITEL, ZDF/ARTE in cooperation with Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Gstaad Menuhin Festival
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list