Nelsons conducts Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich


In May 2019, the principal conductor of the Gewandhausorchester, Andris Nelsons, presented Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in combination with Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 with outstanding violinist Baiba Skride as the soloist. With this choice of program, Andris Nelsons continued the Tchaikovsky cycle with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, which he had started as part of the concert series that surrounded his inauguration as Gewandhauskapellmeister in February 2018. PROGRAM Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5; Shostakovich: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Additional Info

  • No: 8722
  • Composer: P.I. Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich
  • Conductor: Andris Nelsons
  • Orchestra: Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
  • Artists: Baiba Skride
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Producers: Accentus Music
  • Format: 4K
back to list