Münchner Philharmoniker – Alain Altinoglu & Renaud Capuçon


It is surprising in how many different timeless forms 20th century music can appear. In Munich, French conductor Alain Altinoglu, music director of Brussel’s Royal Theatre of La Monnaie, and the Münchner Philharmoniker begin their performance with Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s “Giostra Genovese” (Genoese round) which takes the listener on an amazing journey to the pre-baroque world. The rest of the concert is dedicated to three modern classics by Maurice Ravel: Altinoglu’s compatriot Renaud Capuçon is soloist in an orchestral version of the jazzy Violin Sonata (arr. Yan Maresz) and, as a glowing finale, in the Rhapsody “Tzigane” which looks back to the romantic violin showmanship of the 19th Century. The centre of the Ravel part is the suite “Le Tombeau de Couperin” which leads back to the roots of French music tradition. PROGRAM Zimmermann: Giostra Genovese; Ravel: Violin Sonata, Tzigane, Le Tombeau de Couperin

Additional Info

  • No: A055514730000
  • Composer: Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Maurice Ravel
  • Conductor: Alain Altinoglu
  • Orchestra: Münchner Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2020
  • Run time: 01:05:00
  • Producers: Unitel, Münchner Philharmoniker, in cooperation with BR Klassik and Arte Concert
  • Format: 4K
back to list