Mariss Jansons and Daniel Barenboim perform Beethoven & Prokofiev



Daniel Barenboim returns to Mariss Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra (BRSO) for a very special collaboration – ten years after his first performance as piano soloist with them. Together they present a stunning rendition of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto. Hardly any other musician has studied the works of Beethoven as thoroughly as Barenboim and he turns the second movement into something special indeed: the calmness and intimacy of the Adagio is second to none. “No other piano player creates such a magical atmosphere in the quiet passages; no other is capable of stopping time hypnotically like this.” (Abendzeitung) The second part of the night is devoted to Sergei Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony. Here, the BRSO soars to great achievements in sound, creating a finale “with vertiginous vehemence and power of sound” (Bachtrack). PROGRAM: Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5; Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5

Additional Info

  • No: A055507320000
  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Sergei Prokofiev
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Orchestra: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
  • Production year: 2017
  • Run time: 01:36:00
  • Producers: BR, in co-production with Unitel, in association with Mezzo
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list