LSO: Simon Rattle & Leonidas Kavakos at Barbican


The 2020s meet the 1920s, as Sir Simon Rattle conducts Sibelius, Bartók, and the world premiere of Unsuk Chin’s new Violin Concerto. A new year, and a brand-new masterpiece from Unsuk Chin, the poetic, dazzlingly original musical mind behind the opera Alice in Wonderland. She’s called it Shards of Silence, and it prepares the way for a musical journey back to the 1920s – when Sibelius and Bartók found equally astonishing, equally uncompromising new ways of listening to the world. This is Chin’s second violin concerto. Her first is already a modern classic, and she hadn’t planned to write another – but when she heard the playing of Leonidas Kavakos, she broke her own rule. Naturally, he’s the soloist for tonight’s world-premiere performance, and since history demands context (even while you’re making it) Sir Simon Rattle completes the programme with Sibelius’ Seventh Symphony and Bartók’s brutal, brilliant Miraculous Mandarin Suite. PROGRAM: Chin: Violin Concerto No 2 (workd premiere); Sibelius: Symphony No 7; Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin – Suite

Additional Info

  • No: 8625
  • Composer: Unsuk Chin, Jean Sibelius, Béla Bartók, Antonín Dvořák
  • Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Leonidas Kavakos
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:19:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list