LSO: Roth conducts Saint-Saens & Beethoven


Every revolution has its roots. The two explosive chords that open Beethoven’s Eroica symphony shook classical music to its foundations. For François-Xavier Roth, though, no artist operates in a vacuum, and tonight he places Beethoven’s era-defining masterpiece alongside the strikingly original music of one of his contemporaries from revolutionary France: François-Joseph Gossec. It’s a fascinating rediscovery – exactly what we’ve come to expect from a conductor as adventurous as Roth. Saint-Saëns’s Second Piano Concerto, on the other hand, needs no introduction: In the hands of the ‘simply formidable’ (The Guardian) Bertrand Chamayou, it’ll fizz like champagne. PROGRAM Gossec: Symphonie à 17 parties; Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No 2; Beethoven Symphony No 3 “Eroica”

Additional Info

  • No: 8640
  • Composer: François-Joseph Gossec, Camille Saint-Saëns, Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor: François-Xavier Roth
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Bertrand Chamayou
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list