LSO: Rattle conducts Sibelius & Bruckner


Sir Simon Rattle conducts music in which vast landscapes merge with the human soul: Sibelius’ tone poems and Bruckner’s radiant Seventh Symphony. Bruckner said that the beginning of his Seventh Symphony came to him in a dream, played by an angel. This huge, glowing mountain-range of sound is basically soul music by any other name. Far away in Finland, meanwhile, Sibelius was thinking big too. Whether it’s the sun dancing on the Mediterranean sea, or the forests of the far north, you can practically feel the freshness in the air. Sir Simon Rattle has been conducting Sibelius since he was a teenager, making him an unrivalled guide through this untamed musical landscape. PROGRAM Sibelius: The Oceanides, Tapiola; Bruckner: Symphony No. 7

Additional Info

  • No: 8631
  • Composer: Jean Sibelius, Anton Bruckner
  • Conductor: Simon Rattle
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:38:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list