LSO: Rattle conducts Brahms and Shostakovich


It begins with the engines of industry: mechanical marches, pounding brass. An uneasy second movement, and then a nightmarish vision of life in Stalin’s Russia explodes in a frenzied succession of dance themes. Shostakovich withdrew his Fourth Symphony before its first performance, after hints that he was treading a fine line with the Soviet authorities. It shines on as an extraordinary vision of thwarted humanity. Brahms wrote his Violin Concerto with, and for, his friend, the virtuosic Hungarian musician Joseph Joachim, and its foot-stomping finale honours Joachim’s heritage. PROGRAM Brahms: Violin Concerto; Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4

Additional Info

  • No: 8642
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms, Dmitri Shostakovich
  • Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Isabelle Faust
  • Production year: 2024
  • Run time: 01:51:00
  • Director: Peter Jones
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list