LSO: Pappano conducts Ravel, Say & Rachmaninoff


A Dance to the Music of Time – Ravel, Say and Rachmaninoff. Spellbinding storytellers, dancing ghosts and melodies that will stay with you forever.The fairy-tale heroine Scheherazade must keep her audience entertained on pain of death in the One Thousand and One Nights. In Fazıl Say’s concerto, the violin plays the part of the endlessly fascinating tale-teller. The piece is paired with impassioned music originally written for the ballet: Ravel’s haunting waltz and Rachmaninoff’s mysterious Symphonic Dances. Ravel imagined whirling couples in a Viennese concert hall in music that seems haunted by World War I. Rachmaninoff also conjures up a ghostly waltz, amid the expressive melodies of the last music he ever wrote. PROGRAM Ravel: La valse; Fazıl Say: Violin Concerto (1001 Nights in the Harem); Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances

Additional Info

  • No: 8641
  • Composer: Maurice Ravel, Fazıl Say, Serge Rachmaninoff
  • Conductor: Antonio Pappano
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Patricia Kopatchinskaja
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 01:26:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list