LSO: Noseda conducts Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev


Gianandrea Noseda conducts Prokofiev’s ‘symphony of the greatness of the human spirit’, and Janine Jansen is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s hugely popular Violin Concerto. Put aside all thoughts of turmoil and angst; Tchaikovsky wrote his Violin Concerto by the shores of Lake Geneva, surrounded by people he loved – and you can tell. Janine Jansen is one of the LSO’s most welcome regular guests and Gianandrea Noseda follows her performance in grand style, with a truly epic Russian symphony. In fact, it’s said that at the Moscow premiere in 1945, Prokofiev couldn’t begin his Fifth Symphony until an artillery barrage had fallen silent. This is music of iron and steel, and LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda is passionate about it. First, though, he puts down a marker for the future, with a new, Russian-inspired orchestral work by George Stevenson – a rising star of the LSO’s Panufnik Composers Scheme. PROGRAM Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto; Prokofiev: Symphony No 5; Stevenson: Vanishing City. AVAILABLE May 2022

Additional Info

  • No: 8627
  • Composer: Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev, George Stevenson
  • Conductor: Gianandrea Noseda
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Janine Jansen
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list