LSO: Michael Tilson Thomas & Yuja Wang at Barbican


Yuja Wang and Michael Tilson Thomas: two names that speak for themselves, in Rachmaninoff’s hugely popular Second Piano Concerto. Much more than just a brief encounter… Rachmaninoff was shaping up to be the greatest pianist in history when he wrote his Second Concerto, and even he used to consider it a challenge. So when you hear how effortless Yuja Wang makes it sound, you’ll understand why her concerts sell out around the globe. And because Yuja’s playing is pure inspiration, Michael Tilson Thomas opens and closes the concert with two pieces that grab you, heart and soul. From Norway, a ravishing miniature from Edvard Grieg, whose music was once described as ‘bonbons wrapped in snow’. Then, to finish – well, what can we possibly say about the most famous symphony ever written? Except that if all you know of Beethoven’s Fifth is those incredible first few notes, you’re in for the musical adventure of a lifetime. PROGRAM Grieg: The Last Spring; Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No 2; Beethoven: Symphony No 5

Additional Info

  • No: 8622
  • Composer: Grieg, Rachmaninoff, Beethoven
  • Conductor: Michael Tilson Thomas
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Yuja Wang
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:18:00
  • Producers: LSO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list