LSO: Gardiner conducts Schumann & Mendelssohn


Sir John Eliot Gardiner leads a journey through the Romanticism of Weber, Mendelssohn and Schumann. The Overture to Weber’s grand opera Euryanthe, which has taken on a life of its own in the concert hall, is a window onto some of the most exciting moments of the whole work. Isabelle Faust and Kristian Bezuidenhout then present Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Piano, which elegantly balances a measure of Classical restraint against rich and Romantic displays of feeling. We close with Schumann’s Third Symphony. One of the composer’s most impressive, it paints a euphoric picture of the German Rhineland in broad Beethovenian style, closing with an exhilarating finale. PROGRAM Weber: Euryanthe Overture; Mendelssohn: Concerto for violin and piano; Schumann: Symphony No 3

Additional Info

  • No: 8618
  • Composer: Schumann, Mendelssohn
  • Conductor: Sir John Eliot Gardiner
  • Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Artists: Isabelle Faust, Kristian Bezuidenhout
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 01:27:00
  • Producers: LSO Live
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list