Leonard Bernstein: Joseph Haydn Symphonies


Haydn is generally seen as one of the main originators of the “Viennese sound”, the inimitable style of playing which is still very much alive today and is particularly cultivated by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. This orchestra has Haydn’s music in its blood, and its interpretation of his symphonies demonstrates a supreme confidence, musical sophistication and lightness of touch. As a noted American music critic remarked following a performance of the Oxford Symphony conducted by Leonard Bernstein: “Let’s have no further argument: the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra is the best orchestra in the world. Bernstein’s interpretations of the symphonies have consistently met with unreserved critical acclaim. He, of all conductors, possessed precisely the qualities which Haydn’s music requires: grace, charm and a generous measure of wit.”

Additional Info

  • No: 746504
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2018-06
  • Run time: 01:51:00

Disc Infos

  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 111 mins
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC 4:3 HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 15
  • Item No.: 746504
  • UPC No.: 814337014650
  • Release Date: 2018-06
back to list