Le Nozze di Figaro


Le nozze di Figaro is Lorenzo Da Ponte’s and Mozart‘s first of their three jointly created operas about attempts at interpersonal relationships: a turbulent comedy with erotic entanglements, which was not a harmless comedy even in Mozart’s day. Director Martin Kušej moves the drama of love and jealousy to a mafia-like urban milieu where conflicts are fought out with pistols. Young French conductor Raphaël Pichon, “original sound expert” (Der Tagesspiegel) and for the first time on the podium of the Wiener Philharmoniker, leads a young ensemble of singers around clan boss Almaviva (“vocally flawlessly brilliant: Andrè Schuen”, Hamburger Abendblatt). “Kušej’s staging is musical, Pichon’s conducting theatrical; the two work together to a degree that is far more rare than it should be. Every detail has been carefully thought through, and the symbiosis is breathtaking.” (Financial Times)“Martin Kušej’s new Figaro is slick, dark and grimly entertaining.” (Financial Times)“One will rarely, if ever, hear ‘Le nozze di Figaro’ so well balanced on stage, with such a homogeneous ensemble of such class, with such a precise Mozart sound.” (Frankfurter Rundschau)

Additional Info

  • No: 810808
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Conductor: Raphael Pichon
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Artists: Krzysztof Baczyk, Sabine Devieilhe, Andrè Schuen, Adriana Gonzalez, Lea Desandre, Kristina Hammarstrom, Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor
  • Production year: 2024-07
  • Run time: 02:58:00
  • Director: Stage Director: Martin Kusej
  • Producers: A production of Servus TV, Camera lucida and UNITEL in cooperation with Medici.tv, Mezzo, France TV, Wiener Philharmoniker and Salzburg Festival
  • Format: HDTV 16:9

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: It (original language), It, D, E, Fr, Sp, Ko, Jp
  • Booklet: E, D, Fr
  • No. of Discs: 2
  • Run time: 178 mins
  • Disc Format: DVD9
  • Picture: NTSC
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 22
  • Item No.: 810808
  • UPC No.: 810116910878
  • Release Date: 2024-07
back to list