Le nozze di Figaro


“He was out to create something ‘unheard-of’,” observed conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt beforehand. And true to form: What the conductor had to offer as he commenced his Mozart/Da Ponte cycle in the Theater an der Wien was something we “had never before heard like this” (Kurier). Nikolaus Harnoncourt, “master” of period performance practice, realized a project that had long been one of his dearest wishes: for the first time, he and his “original-sound orchestra” Concentus Musicus and his personal choice of singers were presenting the complete Mozart/Da Ponte cycle and harvesting the fruits of his Mozart research – an “enthusiastically acclaimed cycle!” (news.at). During an intensive phase of rehearsal and preparation, he was in search of a Mozart hermeneutic resting on historical sources and yet anchored in our own time, in order to stage the whole Da Ponte “trilogy” – Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni and Così fan tutte – in a matter of a mere six weeks. Harnoncourt has once again lived up to his name as a “Mozart rebel”: “True to his reputation as a provocateur, Harnoncourt takes at a fast speed what we are accustomed to hear slow, while reining in what we expected to be lively” (Forum Opera).

Additional Info

  • No: 803804
  • Composer: W.A. Mozart
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Orchestra: Concentus Musicus Wien
  • Artists: Bo Skovhus, Christine Schäfer, Mari Eriksmoen, Andrè Schuen, Elisabeth Kulman, Ildikó Raimondi, Peter Kálmán, Mauro Peter, Arnold Schoenberg Chor
  • Production year: 2021-03
  • Run time: 04:02:00

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: It, G, E, F, Ko, Jp
  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 242 mins
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Bonus Material: Documentary: Nikolaus Harnoncourt - Between Obsession and Perfection (Le nozze di Figaro)
  • Subtitles Bonus: G, E, Ko, Jp
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 25
  • Item No.: 803804
  • UPC No.: 814337017545
  • Release Date: 2021-03
back to list