Gonzales-Monjas, Villazon & Mozarteum Orchestra


New Mozarteumorchester Salzburg chief conductor Roberto González-Monjas and his orchestra are a pair that has “sought and found” (APA) each other, perform Salieri’s rarely heard Sinfonia “Il giorno onomastico”. The concert is bookended by Mozart’s first and last symphonies, for which González-Monjas “presented a striking interpretative calling card” (Salzburger Nachrichten). Rolando Villazón completes the evening with three of Mozart’s arias, utilizing his full range as a performer: “The arch-comedian […] plays all his trump cards of dramatic and gestural, but also vocal expressiveness” (Salzburger Nachrichten). Mozart: Symphony in E flat major, K. 16; “Va’ dal furor portata”, K. 21, Aria for tenor and orchestra; From La clemenza di Tito, K. 621: Aria of Tito “Se all’impero, amici dèi”; “Con ossequio, con rispetto”, K. 210, Aria for tenor and orchestra; Symphony in C major, K. 551 “Jupiter”; Salieri: Symphony in D major “Il giorno onomastico” (arr. Pietro Spada)

Additional Info

  • No: A045502890000
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Antonio Salieri
  • Conductor: Roberto Gonzales-Monjas
  • Orchestra: Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
  • Artists: Rolando Villazon
  • Production year: 2024
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Director: Benedict Mirow
  • Producers: UNITEL, ORF III, Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum
  • Format: 4K
back to list