Gardiner conducts Berlioz and Elgar


The Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France joins forces with conductor Sir John Eliot Gardiner and violist Antoine Tamestit for a concert featuring Italy and putting two composers in the spotlight: Hector Berlioz and Edward Elgar. With Harolde en Italie, Hector Berlioz invokes transalpine landscapes. Shaped by the period when the composer was resident at the Villa Medici, this symphony in four parts gives pride of place to the viola, played here by Antoine Tamestit – “one of the two or three greatest current performers” (Diapason). In the South (Alassio), composed between 1903 and 1904 by Edward Elgar, is still about Italy, pastoral atmosphere and Byronic colours. Brilliantly complex, this work, written in record time, is one of the peaks of romantic music. Let us travel a little deeper into Edward Elgar’s melancholy with his Sospiri. This adagio for strings composed at the dawn of the First World War is captivating in its romanticism and passion.

Additional Info

  • No: A015502060000
  • Composer: Hector Berlioz, Edward Elgar
  • Conductor: John Eliot Gardiner
  • Orchestra: Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
  • Artists: Antoine Tamestit
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:19:00
  • Director: Olivier Simonnet
  • Producers: ARTE France, Camera lucida productions, Radio France
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list