Franz Welser-Möst conducts Schönberg, Hindemith, Strauss and Ravel


In this subscription concert, Franz Welser-Möst and the Wiener Philharmoniker whisk the audience away to the early 20th century and its variety of styles, from preserving tradition to embracing modernity. Starting with Hindemith’s Konzertmusik for wind orchestra, the superb wind section shows what they are made of: “From the very first fanfare sounds of the opening movement you could feel the fun they had” (Die Presse). With the rarely performed Strauss fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten, Ravel’s La Valse and Schönberg’s Variations for orchestra, Welser-Möst shows top form at the podium: “It’s impressive how Welser-Möst gives each piece its own aura. How he leads the perfectly studied musicians to snappy steps and artfully stylised dance forms, or how he revels in the splendour of sound in Strauss and Ravel” (Kronenzeitung).

Additional Info

  • No: A045502940000
  • Composer: Schönberg, Hindemith, Strauss, Ravel
  • Conductor: Franz Welser-Möst
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2024
  • Run time: 01:36:00
  • Director: Dominik Kepczynski
  • Producers: UNITEL, ORF III, Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Format: 4K
back to list