Daniil Trifonov – Bach: The Art of Life


Captivating the audience from the very first moment, Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov brings deep insight into the music-making of J.S. Bach at the Philharmonie in Berlin. Traversing the entirety of the keyboard with just his left hand, he performs a stunning rendition of Bach’s Chaconne in D Minor, before moving seamlessly into the monumental Art of Fugue. Trifonov navigates the 14 fugues and four canons with technical prowess, intimate understanding, careful detail, and exquisite touch and offers a self-composed conclusion of the final contrapunctus worthy of Bach’s genius, a performance of Dame Myra Hess’s moving transcription of “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring” and three encores by three of Bach’s sons, performed between bursts of thunderous applause. PROGRAM Bach: Chaconne in D Minor, Art of Fugue and encores

Additional Info

  • No: 8807
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Christian Bach, Wilhelm Friedemann Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:44:00
  • Producers: Deutsche Grammophon
  • Format: 4K
back to list