Cosi fan tutte


“He was out to to create something ‘unheard-of’,” observed conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt beforehand. And true to form: What the conductor had offer as he commenced his Mozart/Da Ponte cycle in the Theater an der Wien was something we “had never before heard like this” (Kurier). Nikolaus Harnoncourt, “master” of period performance practice, realized a project that had long been one of his dearest wishes: for the first time, he and his “original-sound orchestra” Concentus Musicus and his personal choice of singers were presenting the complete Mozart/Da Ponte cycle and harvesting the fruits of his Mozart research – an “enthusiastically acclaimed cycle!” (news.at). During an intensive phase of rehearsal and preparation, he was in search of a Mozart hermeneutic resting on historical sources and yet anchored in our own time, in order to stage the whole Da Ponte “trilogy” – Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni and Così fan tutte – in a matter of a mere six weeks. “The culmination of Harnoncourt’s involvement with [Mozart’s Da Ponte operas] – „A Mozart drawn from historical sources and yet anchored in our own time.” (Die Presse)

Additional Info

  • No: 804204
  • Composer: W.A. Mozart
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Orchestra: Concentus Musicus Wien
  • Artists: Mari Eriksmoen, Katija Dragojevic, Andrè Schuen, Mauro Peter, Elisabeth Kulman, Markus Werba, Arnold Schoenberg Chor
  • Production year: 2021-05
  • Run time: 04:04:00

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: It, G, E, F, Ko, Jp
  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 244 mins
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Bonus Material: Documentary: Nikolaus Harnoncourt - Between Obsession and Perfection (Cosi fan tutte)
  • Subtitles Bonus: G, E, Ko, Jp
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CM 25
  • Item No.: 804204
  • UPC No.: 814337017507
  • Release Date: 2021-05
back to list