Bruckner 11: The complete Symphonies -Christian Thielemann & Wiener Philharmoniker


Bruckner complete Symphonies


On the occasion of the Bruckner bicentenary, the Vienna Philharmonic recorded its first ever complete Bruckner cycle with a single conductor, Christian Thielemann. In addition to the well-known canon of nine symphonies, the two earliest Bruckner symphonies in F minor and D minor were also recorded for the first time in the orchestra’s history. This uniquely complete edition from the Musikverein and Salzburg Festival, featuring 11 symphonies also includes extensive conversations with Christian Thielemann about each symphony and insights into his rehearsal work. “In this audiovisual edition Bruckner 11, the Vienna Philharmonic pays tribute to the symphonic works of the great Austrian composer Anton Bruckner, whose 200th birthday anniversary will be celebrated in 2024. For the first time in our orchestral history we have made a complete recording of all nine symphonies and two of his brilliant yet rarely performed early works with a single conductor. We enjoy a very close artistic partnership and friendship with Christian Thielemann, who is an acknowledged expert on the music of Anton Bruckner and one of the most influential contemporary conductors in this repertoire. In this recording, our long tradition comes alive in both sound and images. We hope it will encourage people to rediscover the treasures of Bruckner’s music, a legacy that the composer bestowed upon present and future generations of music lovers.” Prof. Daniel Froschauer, Chairman of the Wiener Philharmoniker.

Additional Info

  • No: 809504
  • Composer: Anton Bruckner
  • Conductor: Christian Thielemann
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2023-09
  • Run time: 16:58:00
  • Format: HDTV 16:9

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: D, E, Ko, Jp
  • Booklet: D, E
  • No. of Discs: 5
  • Run time: 1018 mins (Symphonies: 718 mins / Bonus: 300 mins)
  • Disc Format: BD-50
  • Picture: NTSC
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Bonus Material: Discovering Bruckner - Christian Thielemann in conversation on each Bruckner Symphony
  • Subtitles Bonus: D, E, Ko, Jp
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 88
  • Item No.: 809504
  • UPC No.: 810116910052
  • Release Date: 2023-09
back to list