Bruckner 11 – Christian Thielemann & Wiener Philharmoniker


Bruckner: Symphonies Nos 4 & 9


On the occasion of the Bruckner bicentenary, the Wiener Philharmoniker recorded its first ever complete Bruckner cycle under the baton of Christian Thielemann. In addition to the well-known canon of nine symphonies, the two earliest Bruckner symphonies in F minor and D minor, which are a world premiere on DVD and Blu-ray, were also recorded for the first time in the orchestra's history. This uniquely complete edition from the Musikverein and Salzburg Festival, featuring 11symphonies, also includes extensive conversations with Christian Thielemann about each symphony and insights into his rehearsal work. “Thielemann takes ample time especially for the slow, the groping quiet and thus organically develops the structure of the entire symphony …” (Süddeutsche Zeitung on Bruckner 4) “The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra brings out the beauty of this three-movement symphony in all its facets [...] This leaves nothing to be desired.” (Salzburger Nachrichten on Bruckner 9)

Additional Info

  • No: 807604
  • Composer: Anton Bruckner
  • Conductor: Christian Thielemann
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Production year: 2023-04
  • Run time: 03:17:00

Disc Infos

  • Booklet: E, G
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 197 mins (Symphonies: 142 mins / Bonus: 55 mins)
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo, PCM 5.1
  • Bonus Material: Discovering Bruckner with Christian Thielemann
  • Subtitles Bonus: E, D, Ko, Jp
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 15
  • Item No.: 807604
  • UPC No.: 814337017163
  • Release Date: 2023-04
back to list