Blomstedt conducts Voříšek & Mozart


With this concert, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and Herbert Blomstedt embarked on a musical journey to the Czech Republic in memory of the orchestra’s former conductor Václav Neumann. It was there that Jan Václav Voříšek was born in 1791, the manuscript of his D Major Symphony sharing the fate of the symphonies of his friend Franz Schubert in neither being published nor performed during his lifetime. Prague was also the place of a short, late, and rare happy chapter in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s moving biography and his D major Symphony K. 504 was premiered there. PROGRAM Voříšek: Symphony D major, op. 23; Mozart: Symphony D major, K 504 “Prague”

Additional Info

  • No: 8783
  • Composer: Jan Václav Voříšek, W.A. Mozart
  • Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt
  • Orchestra: Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
  • Production year: 2020
  • Run time: 01:19:00
  • Producers: Accentus Music In co-production with MDR/Arte
  • Format: 4K
back to list