Beethoven – The 5 Cello Sonatas


Performing Beethoven’s entire work for cello and piano in a single concert is a special experience: It is a journey through a lifetime, a journey into the depths of the German composer’s soul. The sonatas represent all three of Beethoven’s major creative periods. Cellist Gary Hoffman, Master in Residence at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, Waterloo, together with pianist David Selig dedicate an evening to the complete sonatas for cello and piano by Ludwig van Beethoven. The audience discovers the composer’s development in his desire to master the writing for the cello, but also, more generally, the evolution of his musical aesthetics. Beethoven’s cello sonatas have more strength, intensity and variety of expression than any previously written sonatas. He has succeeded in elevating instrumental music to the highest level of art, which the two artists of this special evening impressively demonstrate.

Additional Info

  • No: A965500230000
  • Composer: L.v. Beethoven
  • Artists: Gary Hoffman (cello), David Selig (piano)
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 02:03:00
  • Producers: Heliox, ARTE, Décadrages, Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel and Playcam International, Distributed by UNITEL
  • Format: 4K
back to list