Anne-Sophie Mutter and NY Philharmonic at Kraftwerk Peenemünde


It is a special place: it was here that the Nazi regime had the rockets developed that were used to bombard London during World War II. Today, the former turbine hall is a place of remembrance and reconciliation. Anne-Sophie Mutter, the four-time Grammy Award winner and formative soloist, mentor and visionary, connects Germany and the USA like no other violinist. Her husband, the American-Jewish pianist, composer and conductor André Previn, who died in 2019, dedicated the violin concerto ‘Anne-Sophie‘ to her. It is one of his most successful works and a profound love letter full of virtuosity for a master of her instrument. Joan Tower is also dedicated to strong women. With "1920/2019" from the New York Philharmonic‘s Project 19, the young composer pays tribute to the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution, which guaranteed women the right to vote and which celebrated its centenary in 2020. The New York Philharmonic also finds diversity in equality in Béla Bartók’s most successful work. His concerto for orchestra, premiered in Boston in 1944, demands brilliant solo and virtuoso performances from the orchestra. PROGRAM Previn: Violin Concerto ‘Anne Sophie‘; Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra; Tower: 1920/2019 (European premiere)

Additional Info

  • No: 8840
  • Composer: Béla Bartók, André Previn, Joan Tower
  • Conductor: Jaap van Zweden
  • Orchestra: New York Philharmonic
  • Artists: Anne-Sophie Mutter
  • Production year: 2022
  • Run time: 01:40:00
  • Director: Michael Beyer
  • Producers: BFMI, ZDF, 3Sat, in collaboration with Usedomer Muisk Festival
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list