San Francisco Symphony – Season Opening Gala 2021


since the 2020-21 season, promising an innovative programming as bold as it is clever, and with it a new spectrum of sound for the orchestra. Salonen is now opening a new chapter with the San Francisco Symphony in California. As if it were a matter of course, Salonen spans the rhythmic and harmonic arc from the Stravinksy-inspired piece by U.S. composer John Adams to Argentine sounds choreographed and performed by the Alonzo King LINES Ballet. Classically trained Grammy Award winner Esperanza Spalding moves with equal ease in the genre of jazz with music by Wayne Shorter. Finally, Revuelta‘s fi lm score celebrates Mexico‘s pre-Columbian heritage and concludes the evening by transforming the concert into a true “Night of Enchantment.” The gala concert opening the 2021-22 season offers glimpses of Salonen‘s vision for the future of the San Francisco Symphony.

Additional Info

  • No: 8802
  • Composer: John Adams, Alberto Ginastera, Wayne Shorter, Silvestre Revueltas
  • Conductor: Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Orchestra: San Francisco Symphony
  • Artists: Esperanza Spalding, Alonzo King Lines Ballet
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:15:00
  • Producers: BFMI
  • Format: 4K
back to list