Salzburg Festival 2019: Barenboim conducts the West–Eastern Divan Orchestra


Daniel Barenboim and his West–Eastern Divan Orchestra return to the Salzburg Festival with a programme of emotion and sensation. Legendary Argentine pianist Martha Argerich is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 – an outpouring of Romantic intensity sustained from the arresting opening chords right through to the thrilling finale. Polish folk dances pulse through Lutosławski’s vibrant Concerto for Orchestra, with ist echoes of Stravinsky and Bartok. Ist bracing rhythmic energy and reticent beauty offer the perfect foil to the melodic richness of Tchaikovsky’s concerto.

Additional Info

  • No: A045501180000
  • Composer: Franz Schubert, P. I. Tchaikovsky, Witold Lutosławski
  • Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
  • Orchestra: West–Eastern Divan Orchestra
  • Artists: Martha Argerich
  • Production year: 2019
  • Run time: 01:40:00
  • Producers: Unitel
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list