RCO: Iván Fischer conducts

C Major


The musical history of the Concertgebouw and the orchestra comes to life when Iván Fischer conducts works by all 17 composers whose names adorn the balconies. Which composers’ names are immortalised on the cartouches (or name plaques) on the balconies of the Main Hall? The selection of composers – exclusively white men – says a lot about the Zeitgeist of 100 years ago. ‘This programme is a time machine’, says the conductor. Well-known melodies are heard alongside unknown gems. Soprano Anna Prohaska sings songs by Richard Strauss, Diepenbrock, Reger and Ravel. The instrumental works on the programme include Debussy’s Danse profane, with a leading role for principal harpist Anneleen Schuitemaker, and Mahler’s ‘Blumine’, and the Trepak from Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker. It’s a unique programme full of historical connections with The Concertgebouw and the orchestra.

Additional Info

  • No: 8882
  • Composer: Dvorák, Strauss, Debussy, Dopper, Diepenbrock, Mahler, Bruckner, Wagenaar …
  • Conductor: Iván Fischer
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Artists: Anna Prohaska
  • Production year: 2023
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Producers: RCO
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list