RCO: Gatti conducts Bruch & Mahler


Chief conductor Daniele Gatti and star violinist Janine Jansen unite in Max Bruch’s First Violin Concerto, a warm-blooded work which fits Jansen like a glove. Listening to the concerto, with its sweetly flowing melodies and blazing solo passages, one would never know that it took Bruch four years of frustration to write. Almost immediately after it was premiered, it was considered one of the most popular violin concertos in the repertoire. Daniele Gatti and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra are pursuing their Mahler series with the First Symphony. At the premiere in 1889, the audience was ill-prepared for Mahler’s bold orchestration, but the symphony gradually gained in popularity. The Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by the composer himself, gave the Dutch premiere in 1903. Mahler was absolutely delighted, exclaiming, ‘The musical culture in this country is stupendous! The way the people can just listen!’ PROGRAM: Bruch: Violin Concerto; Mahler: Symphony No. 1

Additional Info

  • No: A8655004400000
  • Composer: Max Bruch, Gustav Mahler
  • Conductor: Daniele Gatti
  • Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Artists: Janine Jansen
  • Production year: 2018
  • Run time: 01:31:00
  • Producers: RCO, Unitel
  • Format: HDTV 16:9
back to list